Skip to content

Public Policy Committee

An important part of Chamber membership is awareness and advocacy on matters of public policy that directly impact Charlottesville and Albemarle County. The Chamber strives to raise key issues as an honest broker and constructively provide a crucial business perspective to many challenges and opportunities in our community.

The Public Policy Committee serves as a legislative and regulatory think tank for the Chamber Board of Directors and the many roundtables and councils of the Chamber, to help inform the organization’s advocacy efforts and initiatives. The committee also reviews legislative action and, when necessary, recommends action to the Chamber Board of Directors. Only the Board of Directors can decide whether the Chamber will take a formal position on issues of public policy. The Public Policy Committee and Chamber of Commerce DO NOT endorse candidates for office.

Meeting time: 12:00-1:00pm on the 1st Tuesday of each month

Location: online via Zoom

Attendance policy: Public Policy Committee meetings are free for Chamber members to attend. You may bring your own lunch.

Sign up here to receive meeting notices for this group.

Meeting with Charlottesville City Manager Dr. Tarron Richardson
Meeting with Charlottesville City Manager Dr. Tarron Richardson
2020 Meeting Schedule

All in-person meetings and events scheduled for March through December have been moved online.

Click here to register for upcoming meetings.

  • February 4: Steering Committee work session
  • March 3 – Canceled
  • April 7 – Canceled
  • May 5: Steering Committee work session
  • June 2
  • July – No meeting
  • August – No meeting
  • September 1
  • October 6
  • November 3
  • December 1